“A book can give a child a way to learn to value herself, which is at the start of the process of growing a great soul.”

       ~Katherine Patterson~

By scbailey [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

By scbailey [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Christmas is almost here, and if you’re like me, you still have a few gifts to buy. What to get for your nephew? Do you need one more present for each child? Books make wonderful gifts.

Some of my favorite memories of Christmas are the books I received as gifts. I still have the copy of Little Bear my great-aunt gave me when I was four and the copy of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory my grandmother gave me when I was eight.

There are so many options, though, it can be overwhelming to know what to choose. One possibility is to give a book that you loved as a child. Or take a look at any one of these lists for suggestions of current books that kids are sure to love.

santa-goes-everywhere

The Horn Book has a list of new Christmas and Hanukkah books for preschoolers  and primary age children here.

A comprehensive list of picture books, chapter books, and nonfiction for all ages can be found at Reading Rockets.

9780062268129         9781408316313

The folks at NPR have created an great interactive guide to The Best Kids Books of 2013.

WhoSaysWomenDoctors1     photo-1     Flora___Ulysses

Huffington Post has their list of “Best Picture Book of 2013” organized by categories such as “Best Overall,” “Most Fun,” and ” Best History/Biography.”

If you have a wide range of ages to buy for, The New York Times list of “Notable Children’s Books of 2013” includes books for young adults and middle grade readers in addition to picture books.

Seasons readings, everyone!

